Pluto Rocket: New in Town (Pluto Rocket #1) (Paperback)

Pluto Rocket: New in Town (Pluto Rocket #1) By Paul Gilligan Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
In-store Pick Up (Pick Up as Books Arrive)
1 on hand, as of Jun 16 7:05am
(Juvenile-Graphic Novels)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Pluto Rocket series.

Description


Meet Pluto Rocket, a friendly alien, and Joe Pidge, a wise-cracking pigeon, in the first book of this hilarious new early graphic novel series, for fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Pizza and Taco!

Joe Pidge, not just a pigeon but also the stylish king of the neighborhood, is bobbing his way down the street one day when, all of a sudden, Pluto Rocket enters the scene. It turns out, Pluto is from another planet, and is disguising herself for her secret mission — to find out what life in the neighborhood is really like.

Lucky for Pluto, Joe Pidge has seen it all before, eaten it all before, and pooped on it all before, so he takes her under his wing and the two become fast friends. But Joe is the one who actually learns a thing or two and whose mind is blown by the out-of-this-world Pluto in this hilarious graphic novel series from Paul Gilligan, creator of the syndicated comic strip Pooch Café!

About the Author


PAUL GILLIGAN writes and draws the syndicated comic strip Pooch Cafe with Andrews McMeel, which runs in over 250 newspapers around the world and has been twice nominated by the National Cartoonist Society for best strip. He is also the author-illustrator of King of the Mole People and its sequel, Rise of the Slugs. He also has other animated shows in development with Guru Animation, the CW Network and the BBC. Paul is based in Toronto, Ontario.

Praise For…


A Golden Duck Notable Picture Books List Pick

PRAISE FOR Pluto Rocket: New in Town

“I laughed out loud at Pluto Rocket. I want to buy the book now, I want to buy the many sequels it will have and I want to watch the TV adaptation, which we all know would be foolish not to do. . . . Funny and sweet and a feast for the eyes. A+!” T.L. McBeth, author and illustrator of Randy, the Badly Drawn Horse

"Uncluttered, colorful cartoon art helps tell this sweetly funny story of the eager adventurer Pluto and her guide, Joe, who transforms from braggart to best friend. Humor and dynamic characters create a tale of cooperation, sharing, and friendship." Kirkus Reviews

"Its saucy vibe and Pluto’s boundless curiosity, optimism, and extraterrestrial wizardry will easily melt even the most streetwise bird’s heart." Publishers Weekly

"Gilligan’s offbeat, random humor ensures that the stories are fresh, and the laughs are genuine. . . . Not one to miss." School Library Journal

"Gilligan wraps lessons about sharing, friendship and community in a colourful graphic novel package full of humour and sass. . . . Readers will be clamoring to read the next installment of this new series full of heart." CM: Review of Canadian Materials


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735271920
ISBN-10: 0735271925
Publisher: Tundra Books
Publication Date: January 31st, 2023
Pages: 88
Language: English
Series: Pluto Rocket