The Spells We Cast (Hardcover)

The Spells We Cast By Jason June Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
In-store Pick Up (Pick Up as Books Arrive)
1 on hand, as of Jul 18 12:05pm
(Young Adult Fiction)

Description


From New York Times best-selling author Jason June, a story of spell-slinging, lasso-swinging, and star-crossed love perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys and Carry On.

“The most magical and swoony page-turner I've read in ages.”
—Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times best-selling author of They Both Die at the End

Nigel Barrett has spent his whole life preparing for the Culling, a spell-casting competition that determines which of the world’s teenage magicians will be stripped of their powers to preserve magical balance. But nothing could have prepared him to face Ori Olson, a broody rival whose caustic wit cloaks a painful past. 

From the moment Nigel and Ori meet, sparks fly. Their powers are stronger, more thrilling, the closer they get—not that they can risk becoming attached. Because as the field narrows and the Culling grows more dangerous, Nigel and Ori realize there’s more at stake than just their powers. The greatest threat to magic, their future, and all of humanity might be the connection growing between them. . . .

About the Author


Jason June is a New York Times bestselling author from Austin, Texas, who as of this writing has no magical powers. Bummer. He’s a big fan of Pomeranians, stories that center the power of queer love, and Torchy’s Tacos, “trashy” of course. His novels include Out of the Blue, Jay’s Gay Agenda, and Riley Weaver Needs a Date to the Gaybutante Ball. Visit him on social media @HeyJasonJune, or on his website at www.HeyJasonJune.com.

Praise For…


“The most magical and swoony page-turner I've read in ages.”
Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times best-selling author of They Both Die at the End

“Sparks fly and rivals clash in Jason June’s spellbinding new YA. Witty, charming, and utterly delightful, The Spells We Cast is a magical queer romance that will have your heart racing. Don’t miss it!”  —C. S. Pacat, New York Times best-selling author of Dark Rise

The Spells We Cast is the kind of dazzling, hilarious, and heart-stopping tale only the incredible Jason June could weave. Its exuberant magic cast a spell on me!” —Melissa de la Cruz, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the Blue Bloods series

The Spells We Cast is wildly entertaining! With a lively star-crossed romance and an imaginative world full of magic, monsters, and mayhem, Jason June has written a novel that is fantastically fun.” —F. T. Lukens, New York Times best-selling author of So This Is Ever After

“A thrilling, creative adventure, where enemies and lovers collide. With a magical spin on our modern world, this story showcases the power of our most undeniable human connections. The only thing missing was a spell to help me turn the pages faster!” —Brian Zepka, author of The Temperature of Me and You

“Jason June’s gift for storytelling is magical. Readers will root for Nigel and Ori’s budding romance and fear every twist fighting to keep them apart. With impeccable world-building and layered explorations of identity, societal expectations, privilege, and legacy, this novel grips you like a lasso and never lets you go.” —Amparo Ortiz, author of Last Sunrise in Eterna

A 2024 Kansas National Education Association Reading Circle Recommendation


Product Details
ISBN: 9781368089234
ISBN-10: 1368089232
Publisher: Melissa de la Cruz Studio
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Spells We Cast