The Four Chinese Classics (Kobo eBook)

The Four Chinese Classics By David Hinton Cover Image
Available Now


Four seminal masterworks of Chinese thought—the Tao Te Ching, the Analects, the Chuang Tzu, and the Mencius—presented in one volume for the first time in nearly two centuries

Hinton’s award–winning experience translating a wide range of ancient Chinese poets makes these books sing in English as never before. But these new versions are not only inviting and immensely readable—they also apply much-needed consistency to key philosophical terms in these texts, lending structural links and philosophical rigor heretofore unavailable in English. Breathing new life into these classics, Hinton’s new translations will stand as the definitive texts for our era.

Perhaps the most broadly influential spiritual text in human history, Lao Tzu’s Tao Te Ching is the source of Taoist philosophy, which eventually developed into Ch’an (Zen) Buddhism. Equally influential in the social sphere, Confucius’ Analects is the source of social wisdom in China. The Chuang Tzu is the wild and wacky prose complement to the Tao Te Ching. And with its philosophical story-telling, the Mencius adds depth and complexity to Confucius’ vision.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781619022652
Publisher: Counterpoint
Publication Date: November 18th, 2013